Non-Executive Director Appointments – Vehicle Certification Agency (VCA)

The Vehicle Certification Agency and the Department for Transport are pleased to announce the appointment of Jon Beasley and Darran Messem, who join the VCA as non-executive directors (NEDs).

Jon is a business and engineering professional with approaching 40 years’ of Global automotive industry experience. He has held various senior executive positions with industry leading organisations, was a founder member of the Advanced Propulsion Centre, and a long-standing member of the UK Automotive Council.

Darran brings significant executive and non-executive board level experience in the transport and energy sectors, having previously held senior positions in strategy, marketing and product development with companies including Shell and British Airways. Darran is a NED with Velocys plc and Shoreham Port Authority. In his capacity as a NED at the VCA, Darran will also chair their Audit and Risk Assurance Committee.

The VCA’s non-executive chair, Clive Scrivener, said:

“Jon and Darran bring significant experience to the table, and I have no doubt that they will add real value to the board at this time of great technological change.  I wholeheartedly welcome them to the VCA and look forward to working with them.

I’d also like to thank Sarah Philbrick, our outgoing NED who leaves the board in December, and whose support and guidance has been invaluable to myself and the executive team.”