Type Approval for Tractors T1 to T4

This page was last updated on 25th February 2022

Agricultural and Forestry Tractors

Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Type Approval schemes exist in Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Whole Vehicle Type Approval

For tractors which are destined for use in Europe the only whole vehicle type approval available is prescribed under an EU scheme.

European Union Whole Vehicle Type Approval (EUWVTA) is available for agricultural and forestry tractors, their trailers and interchangeable towed equipment (T1, T2, T3, T4, R and S). It also covers systems, components and Separate Technical Units (STU) for these vehicles.

Automotive EU instruments and UN ECE Regulations require third party approval – testing, certification and production conformity assessment by an independent body.

The Framework Regulation sets out requirements on access to information, market surveillance as well as end of series requirements and limits on the number of vehicles that can be produced under small series type approval.

An EU Framework Regulation (EU) 167/2013 and a series of implementing EU Regulations set out the requirements, these are sometimes known as ‘Delegated Acts’.

  • Regulation (EU) No 2018/985 – Regulation on Environmental and Propulsion Unit Performance Requirements (REPPR)
  • Regulation (EU) No 2015/68 – Regulation on Vehicle Braking Requirements (RVBR)
  • Regulation (EU) No 1322/2014 – Regulation on Vehicle construction and general requirements (RVCR)
  • Regulation (EU) No 2015/208 – Regulation on Vehicle Functional Safety Requirements (RVFSR)
  • Regulation (EU) No 2015/504 – Regulation on Administrative Requirements

These include a package of subordinate requirements for vehicle systems, components and STUs which are based around a mixture of EU Regulations and UN Regulations. This certification is accepted throughout the EU without the need for further testing until a standard is updated or the vehicle design changes.

A manufacturer holding an EU type approval can produce unlimited numbers of vehicles for distribution in the whole of the EU, including Northern Ireland.

Small Series

Some EU member States may operate a small series type approval regime for category T and C with maximum limits of 150 and 50 respectively.

Vehicle Systems, Components and Separate Technical Units

For vehicle systems and components and STUs for tractors which are destined for use in Europe type approval is available under both the EU and UN schemes. The requirements are set out in EU Regulation 167/2013 and associated subordinate regulatory acts. These acts also call up relevant UN regulations, type approvals to these UN Regulations can be used to demonstrate compliance with certain elements of the EU whole vehicle type approval scheme, and products in compliance with approvals granted under UN regulations must be accepted by all contracting parties to those regulations.


The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) oversees a series of Codes that apply to the testing of agricultural and forestry tractors, the codes are applied in addition to other forms of testing and are required in a number of countries around the world, both inside and outside of the European Community.

VCA is the UK National Designated Body for OECD for agricultural and forestry tractors.